Tamla Motown is Hot Hot Hot 2

Tamla Motown is Hot Hot Hot 2
Tamla Motown is Hot Hot Hot 2

Needless to say, this record is Hot Hot Hot. This is the second in a row of hot Tamla Motown Records. So no, the 2 has nothing to do with modern youth-text-message “2” as in “too” – this is hot, but that is hot, too. It’s not 2 – I mean, too – hot either. Although on here are some of the hottest Motown tracks ever – in terms of popularity and success. So this LP is pretty hot. But not hotter than I could handle (meaning not too hot)  for me, which is why I have it.

Enough of the foul wordplay, here’s the tracklist:
A1 Marvin Gaye – I heard it through the grapevine
A2 Diana Ross & The Supremes – Love child
A3 Stevie Wonder – For once in my life
A4 The Temptations – Cloud Nine
A5 Diana Ross & The Supremes and The Temptations: I’m gonna make you love me
A6 Bobby Taylor & The Vancouvers – Malinda
A7 The Marvelettes – Destination: Anywhere

B1 The Isley Brothers – This old heart of mine (is weak for you)
B2 Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terell – You’re all I need to get by
B3 Gladys Knight & The Pips – I wish it would rain
B4 The Four Tops – I’m in a different world
B5 R. Dean Taylor – Gotta seen Jane
B6 Martha Reeves & The Vandellas – Sweet darlin’
B7 Shorty Long – Here comes the judge

Like I said, these are heavily popular songs. I guess I heard it through the grapevine, just like Diana Ross & The Supremes or Stevie Wonder need no introduction. So what good would it be if I wrote a lenghty description about the impact of the Motown label on popular music, about what a star Diana Ross is generally considered, or about the various volumes of the Hot Hot Hot compilation that exist (2 hot 4 u?). Instead, I want to use the Gladys Knight and The Pips song on this LP, I wish it would rain, to draw attention to another song with the same title from an artist, who might place himself in the tradition of Motown.
The guy’s name is Mayer Hawthorne and just like Motown he’s from Detroit, and his music certainly resonances the typical Motown sound.

Since I find it impossible to find a video or audio of Gladys Knight and The Pips I wish it would rain anywhere online, I’ll have to let the lyrical comparison speak for the strong influence I believe this song must have had on Mayer Hawthorne‘s.

Here are the lyrics to the Gladys Knight and The Pips song (wish actually is a Temptations song):

Oooh,
Sunshine, blue skies
Please go away
My love has found another
And gone away
With him went my future
My life is filled with gloom
So day after day
I stay locked up in my room

I know to you
It might sound strange
But I wish it would rain
(How I wish that it would rain)
Let it rain, rain, rain, rain
So badly, so badly
I want to go outside
(Such a lovely day)
But I can’t stop these tears
From fallin’ from my eyes

Yes, I gotta cry,
‘Cause cryin’ eases the pain
Oh, yes it does
Oh, yes it does
Oh, yes it does

People, this hurt I feel inside
Words could never explain
I wish it would rain
(Oh, how I wish that it would rain)
Let it rain, rain, rain, rain
(Oh, how I wish that it would rain)
Let it rain, rain, rain, rain
Ohhhh, and rain, rain,
Let it rain

Day in, day out
My tear stained face
Pressed against the window pane
My eyes search the skies
Desperately for rain
‘Cause raindrops will hide my teardrops
And no one will ever know
That I’m cryin’, cryin’, cryin’
When I go outside

To the world outside
My tears, I refuse to explain
I wish it would rain.
(Oh how I wish that it would rain)
Let it rain, let it rain.

I’m a girl and I got my pride
T’il it rains, I’m gonna stay inside
Let it rain, let it rain
I wanna say it one more time

I’m a girl and I got my pride
Till it rains, I’m gonna stay inside
Let it rain, let it rain
Let it rain, let it rain

and here are the words for Mayer Hawthorne‘s I wish it would rain:

Well I wish that it would rain
Heavy rain down from the sky
Maybe then you wouldn’t see the teardrops in my eyes
Well I wish that it would rain
It would be a great disguise
Maybe then you wouldn’t see the teardrops in my eyes

And all of the raindrops that fall down on my face
Erase all the memories of you and your embrace
I’ll long for the moment that I lose this bitter taste
And I don’t want you to see me this way

Well I wish that it would rain
Heavy rain down from the sky
Maybe then I wouldn’t see you walking right on by
Well I wish that it would rain
Let it storm just for awhile
Maybe then you wouldn’t see this sadness in my smile

And all of the raindrops that fall down on my face
Erase all the memories of you and your embrace
I’ll long for the moment that I lose this bitter taste
And I don’t want you to see me this way

Rain down rain down
Rain down rain down on me

The theme is pretty similar, isn’t it? And here is the music to the words:


Now what do you think, Hot or Not?

I’ll continue my accounts of shithot “best of” records in my next post about a compilation of hits by The Who.

Leave a Reply

