Stevie Wonder – Songs in the Key of Life (1976)

Stevie Wonder - Songs in the Key of Life (1976)

Stevie Wonder – Songs in the Key of Life (1976)

When I browsed through my record collection to get this one out to write about it, I realized it was right at the end of my pile. Seems like I haven’t been listening to it for ages. Which is a shame really. There is loads to listen to on this one, as it is a two-record set with an extra EP as well. When I bought it in one of the second hand book and record shops I regularly get my supply from, it didn’t have the EP in it. I only realized that when I was back home. I found the EP in the singles stack in the same shop on my next visit, and I decided to bear no grudges and just purchase it separately.

There are some killer tunes on this one, like Sir Duke, which is a guaranteed dance floor filler. And guess what, it’s song about music, and what could be wrong about that!

Another eye opening tune is Pastime Paradise. Eye opening because I must admit I didn’t know before that this is where Coolio‘s Gangsta’s Paradise comes from. Gangsta’s Paradise was such a huge thing in the 90s, and I was a bit of a Hip Hop head back then. It’s one of the tunes I can rap to full on on a karaoke night.

I can’t help it, when the Stevie Wonder song starts, I find myself rapping in my head

As I walk through the valley of the shadow of death…

Here’s an idea I had to get me to write more often on here: I’ll give you and me a little teaser and tell you what the next record I’ll blog about is going to be: It’s a compilation called Tamla Motown is Hot Hot Hot.

and there’ll be some Stevie Wonder on that one as well!

One comment

  1. Pingback: The La’s – The La’s (1990) « I haz records

Leave a Reply

