The Stone Roses – The Stone Roses

The Stone Roses - The Stone Roses (1989)

The Stone Roses – The Stone Roses (1989)

One of my all-time favourite records, but I won’t even try to write about the music here. If you do a search for “stone roses” online I bet you can find a hundred thousand blog entries about “a legend” and “heroes” – because that is what a lot of British people think The Stone Roses were. They simply love them, especially in (and around) Manchester, where the band was from.

If you wanna know about the music, check out youtube and the likes, the most popular songs are I Wanna Be Adored, She Bangs The Drums, Waterfall, Sugar Spun Sister, Made of Stone and I Am The Ressurection. For a single record, The Stone Roses has a lot of hits – I heard that all but two of the songs on this record have been released as singles. And the record is still incredibly popular after 20 years.

In 2006, the NME, weekly music magazine infamous for putting gossip over music, had their readers vote for the best album of all times, and, at the same time, the best British album of all times. OasisDefinitely Maybe was voted as the best record ever, but only came third in the best British record poll. The Stone Roses “only” reached number seven in the first poll, but were still voted the best British record of all times. You may think that’s ironic, but apparently, for the Brits it takes something special to become the British number One.

Now, I think Oasis are an extraordinarily British band. Union Jack iconography and Beatles references are only two things they use to show this. But that is something that not only Britain understands – it’s something the whole world is familiar with. The Stone Roses are extraordinarily British, as well, but their Britishness may be more subtle. It could well be that it is not something as tangible as a Union Jack stage display, but rather an attitude that has developed in their fans minds. Live footage of Oasis always shows extreme devotion of the audience, but the fans are just as devoted when they attend an Ian Brown (who was the Stone Roses singer) gig. They are so loyal in their support of the bands that their praise of the records (“legends” and “heroes”) may sometimes seem exxagerated. But Oasis have been a globally succesful band, while The Stone Roses remained national heroes with a strong tie to their local identity. This notion of regionalism is what makes them essentially British, I think.

I bought this record when I was in the city The Stones Roses came from, Manchester. I hate the record. I mean, I love the record itself very much, but I hat the copy I own. It is a cheap yellow vinyl bootleg copy with a bad quality print. There are disctracting noises at the beginning of side A. At first I thought thatis because the record is so bent that the edge of the cartridge scratches on the surface of the record when I play it. But after careful examination I realised it is not bent that badly. Instead, there are probably some heavy scratches on the record, which I just cannot see, because the vinyl is yellow. I had not thought about it before I got the record, but I realised afterwards that it is good to get original editions. or at least black proper ones. I wont buy a coloured vinyl again!

I never listen to this record. One day I’ll take the time to hunt down a first pressing, thought I it is really hard to get one.  Because all the Brits cling to their copies so much.

Leave a Reply

