Simon and Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits

Simon and Garfunkel's Greatest Hits (1972)

Simon and Garfunkel’s Greatest Hits (1972)

This record is driving me insane. I bought this the same day I bought the Warren Schatz record I wrote about below – it was a hot summer sunday I spent at the flea market. A couple of weeks before I had seen some artist performing a Simon and Garfunkel song on TV, and although the performance was not particularly good, I said to myself: It’s time you get some Simon and Garfunkel classics.

Only, I wanted pure classics, not this. Of course, the songs on this record are not the problem. They are pure masterpieces, goldies (if you allow me to use this terrible word) that everyone has heard and been touched by. I mean, I am sure even people who say that the sort of music is not their cup of tea can nevertheless acknowledge how good it is.

However, I do not need other people’s applause to appreciate that. The problem with this record, then, is that at the beginning and end of certain songs, the sound of applauding people has been mixed into the songs. Sometimes the applause goes on way into the first line of the lyrics. I just find that so annoying.

This is quiet music. You (or rather I) would want to listen to it in a quiet moment, to give me some peace of mind, to make my heart melt a bit and muse about things. and then all of a sudden way too loud hand clapping disrupts me.

Iin comedy shows they have fake laughter to point people to the jokes, in case they did not get it. Fake applause has the opposite effect on me. I am seriously thinking about getting rid of this record again.

Leave a Reply

