The Cardigans – Life / Gran Turismo / Long Gone Before Daylight

The Cardigans - Life (1995)

The Cardigans - Gran Turismo (1998)
The Cardigans - Long Gone Before Daylight (2004)

The Cardigans – Life (1995 ); The Cardigans – Gran Turismo (1998); The Cardigans – Long Gone Before Daylight (2004)

I do not remember in which order I bought these three records, but that does not really matter anyway, because they got so much in common and differ so much from each other at the same time. In terms of music, none of these sounds like the others. Life, the oldest one, sound playful and smart, Gran Turismo is simpler and more electronical, and Long Gone Before Daylight is warm and earth-like. You can find beautiful melodies that go under your skin on all of them. I bought them all on ebay between 2002 and 2004, back in the days when I had nothing but a broken records player that gathered dust but never was used. These were collectors items for me, or rather fan items. I had put them on my wall to look at them, for my visual delight. I did not need to play them, because I also have the cds, and I must have listened to them a million times.

3 comments

  1. Andy

    Hi,

    Are you interested in selling your copy of Long Gone Before Daylight?

  2. 1tba

    Hi Andy, sorry mate, but since it’s one of my favourite records, it’s not up for sale. I’ve noticed it goes for really high prices on ebay at the moment, but I guess there is still a fair chance you might find it in record shops. Good luck with hunting down a copy – it’s worth it!

    • Andy

      No problem, thanks for the reply! I understand. I feel like I’m the only person I know who things this album is just awesome, but apparently everyone else who has a copy (on vinyl) agrees!

Leave a Reply

